HK Carlton is On the Bench

H K Carlton is a multi-published Canadian author of erotic, historical and contemporary romance. But more importantly she loves sport. We have developed a strong friendship, starting from our common ties with Total-E-Bound, we both published our first books around the same time and developed through many emails back and forth, where we shared our love of all things sport and family. We found we have a lot in common – both our sons at some stage in their lives have been hookers. HK’s still is!  Now before you all start heading down the wrong path…Yes, it is a rugby term 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I am very happy to announce that HK Carlton is finally On the Bench, and will be sharing  with us two of her wonderful books.

losttime_800

Within this frame, his curse is time…

Hannah Keys thinks she’s setting off on the trip of her dreams, but after one mishap after another—beginning with her best friend abandoning her in the airport and ending with the man of her dreams dead—she’s renaming it the vacation from hell.

When Hannah Keys discovers a four-hundred-year-old portrait in Wales, she is intrigued and somewhat saddened by the handsome Highlander portrayed by the artist’s masterful, lifelike strokes. But when she runs into the majorly hunky model for the painting—in the flesh, in the middle of the night—she learns first-hand all about masterful strokes when she shares a night of medieval passion with him.

Lockhart Munro has been cursed inside the portrait until he meets Hannah Keys. For four hundred years, no one has heard him or seen him, let alone touched him. The one woman who can do all these things may be the key to his long-awaited freedom.

But if Hannah sets Lockhart free from his prison, will she be cursed to spend the rest of her lifetime without him?

Or perhaps freeing Lockhart will be just the beginning…

Find out more about Lost Time Amazon US

***

streetlightpeople_800

We all have hidden desires. Sometimes we conceal them, even from ourselves.

Andrea, your average college co-ed, has signed up for some extra courses at the local university, but so far the only thing that has sparked her interest is the sexy guy on campus with the tight-fitting jeans, muscle-hugging T-shirt and ever-present shabby cowboy boots. From their fiery exchange of awareness, the admiration is not completely one-sided.

After a miserable day at her part-time job and a few drinks, Andi takes a walk, only to find herself in the arms of her campus crush, Street. As the two get to know each other rather robustly against a storefront window, Street’s girlfriend appears and issues a deliciously steamy proposition.

Andrea soon realises she’s about to get a crash course in down-and-dirty street smarts that she won’t soon forget, under the smouldering tutelage of Street and his exotic-looking girlfriend, Toni. Apparently, you can score anything on the street these days—even a threesome!

After a frenzied night of satisfying experimentation, Andi sneaks out while her two companions sleep, escaping the particularly awkward morning after. But in the stark light of day, Andi has to admit that her feelings for Street are more than simple infatuation, and Toni isn’t a part of the new equation.

Could Andrea possibly hope Street might feel the same?

Find out more about Streetlight People at Total-E-Bound

***

images

On the Bench  Author Interview.

What was the first book you had published?

Swap; an erotic contemporary romance from Total-E-Bound

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

I stared at the computer screen for a moment with my mouth hanging open. I think I said Oh my God, repeatedly before I yelled for my husband to come and have a look.

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

Swap will always hold a special place because it was just such a great experience from the moment I had first contact with my editor right through to release day. I couldn’t have asked for anything more as an introduction into the publishing world. And it seemed to set in motion a series of acceptances that I never could have imagined. You Found Me will always be dear to me because it was the first book that I sent out into the publishing world. It was my baby. It started this whole dream for me. But I am also having an awesome time editing The Devil Take You (historical romance) which comes out in April and I love the hero in this one, because he is not a typical hero. He’s really not a nice guy at all. It’s different.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I am not disciplined at all. And I don’t really have to wait for the muse to arrive either. It’s always there. Knock wood. That is my biggest fear though, that some day the ideas will just stop. But finding the time to just sit and write for as long as I want to, is another story. I also have days though, where I just can’t seem to get anything right. Nothing flows right or I can’t spell or come up with that one word that would just make the paragraph perfect.

What was the last book you read?

If I ever find some time, I am dying to start Karen Marie Moning’s ICED.

What are you working on now?

At the moment editing The Devil Take You, and also working on an erotic contemporary.

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

Fantasy, maybe.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

Feisty and focussed. I want to get right to it.

***

Hughphoto Lucus Neil

bergeron2

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

I love so many different sports: hockey, football (not footy) but CFL/NFL. I like car racing (Nascar), cage fighting, occasionally boxing, and I like rugby because I have watched it while siting in cold cement bleachers in the sleet in Canada in November because my son is a hooker. Yay! Go #2. (Donna please explain this position so people don’t take that the wrong way) LOL.               *D  – No…if they don’t know the term why should we spoil it…sounds more interesting to say both are sons are/were hookers!

I also like to watch Sevens on TV, but we don’t get it very often over here, but it is getting more popular because now Rugby is an Olympic Sport, ya’all. Woohoo! Finest quads and glutes you’ll ever see. Now, in hockey I am a Toronto Maple Leafs and a Boston Bruins fan. I love love love Patrice Bergeron from the Bruins. Are you sorry now that you asked this question, Donna because I could name several men from every one of these sports that I would like to…WRITE A BOOK ABOUT…that’s really not what I was going to say, but there you go. 😀

                      *D – I decided to make Patrice an honorary Aussie for the day and put his photo above…

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

Okay, I have a list: Julian McMahon, Daniel Goddard, Jesse Spencer, Hugh Jackman, Simon Baker, Chris Hemsworth, Keith Urban, Sam Worthington, and my daughter and I were really big fans of Heath Ledger.    *D- Bit greedy HK, you can’t have them all, but nice choices, and I am now a huge fan of Keith Urban after his recent concert  😉

Your view on Vegemite?

I have never tried it, but I think I would prefer to sample the Tim Tams instead.

Can I interest you in poutine and a beer? Mmmm! Now that’s good stuff! 😀         *D – poutine?? What is this??

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

BBQ (and a beer)

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Relaxing by the pool with a nice cold… Mike’s Hard Lemonade (you thought I was going to say beer again.)

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

I’m thinking New South Wales. I believe there is a fantastic tour guide located there, that would show me all the best spots, keep me laughing and hold the best conversation and I’d provide the wine. Cheers, my friend, and thank you for having me On The Bench today.

You are most welcome HK and I would be delighted to show you around Sydney. We have plenty of fine beers I can tempt you with 🙂 By the way HK did I mention I was going to Scotland? (hehehehe!) –  Sorry, that is an inside joke.

Here are the links to find out more about HK and her fabulous books.

Total-E-Bound http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?strParents=&CAT_ID=&P_ID=2056
H K’s Blog http://pickagenrealready.blogspot.ca
Twitter twitter.com/AuthorHKCarlton
Facebook www.facebook.com/authorhk.carlton
Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6544863.H_K_Carlton

16 thoughts on “HK Carlton is On the Bench

  1. What a lovely intro, Donna, thank you. Sorry I was being a little greedy with your Aussie men, but you have some very nice stock to choose from and thank you for including my Patrice for the day. (sigh) ILOVEHIM!!
    Now, poutine is french fries topped with brown gravy and cheese curds. Mmmm! People either love it or hate it. And sometimes restaurants have an Italian version with a red meat sauce either marinara or Bolognese, with cheese over fries. Also very good. Not a diet food. 😀
    Thank you for having me today, Donna.
    Cheers, my friend,
    H K

    • French fries with gravy or french fries (we call them chips) with cheese but not together Eww!
      I think we started something HK all this talk about Aussie men has inspired Jen Wright to do a blog post for Wake Up Wednesday. I’m off to check out the photos and cast my vote 😉

  2. Pingback: Wake Up Wednesday – Aussie Overload | Jennifer Wright's Blog

  3. Great interview! I should have known that ‘hooker’ had a different meaning than I first thought it did. 🙂

  4. Great interview Ladies!
    All that talk of hot Aussies (Chris and Sam ohhhh my) is making me crave a Hard Mike to cool off with. Oops! I meant Mike’s Hard…to cool off with. tee hee 😉

  5. Wow! What a interesting interview! You two are having so much fun! Great list for the Aussie for a day ! Is someone going to share the Scotland inside joke? Love your books HK!

    • Thanks, Lynn, I’m so glad you enjoy my books. 😀 (more blushing)

      The inside joke is, that Scotland is my dream destination and my jet-setting friend, Donna, is going fairly soon to attend a wedding in a castle, no less. Is that not right, Donna? (grrrr) But I’m not envious in the least!

      • I was sitting back waiting for you to reply to that question HK – because I didn’t want to seem like I was rubbing it in 😉 – Yeah right…I’m Going to Scotland, I’m going to Scotland.

        Yes Lynn, HK and I tend to get into mischief and have a whole lot of fun doing it 😀

Leave a comment