Sports Romance Blog Hop – Combining My Love of Sport and Books #Giveaway

Sports romance blog hop button

I have always been obsessed with sport. When my school friends were all gushing over the latest and greatest pop idol or band I was more focussed on sportsmen. My school books were covered with pictures of rugby league players – my sport of choice. I tried at length to convert my girlfriends into sports fan – usually to no avail. Luckily for me my sister was as sports obsessed as me so she was my enabler, taking me to games of footy every weekend 😉

ad

Said sister is now a well-known sports commentator in Australia and often referred to as the first female to dominate Australia’s then very male worlds of sports journalism. Yes she did venture into the hallowed walls of the athletes change rooms.

My addiction to romance novels began about 7 years ago – about the time my husband gave me my first smart phone and I discovered the reading apps available. I was hooked. The day I discovered there was a specific genre that included sports stars across a variety of sports I was ecstatic. I could combine my two great loves at once. Taking the children to swimming lessons, after school sports training sessions and doctor’s visits became a lot more fun when I could have as many books as I wanted all available with the swipe of my thumb 😉

I only began writing my own books a few years ago and it’s no surprise that my heroes are rugby league players. Set in Sydney, Australia my League of Love series tells the tales of the lives and loves of the players and staff from the Sydney Jets. My main characters are not just the footy players. Pippa’s Fantasy is about the club physiotherapist, Laura’s Light, the mother of the rising star and Sarah from Sarah’s Soldier is the Jets social media manager.  All my books do have one thing in common they all have a HEA.

emilyscowboy_800Here is the blurb to recently nominated ARRA Finalist in 4 categories and CTTR Award winner, Emily’s Cowboy.2013 ARRA finalist

When love is not enough to heal the scars, both physical and mental, of the one you thought you would spend your life with…what else is there?

It’s such a cliché—country boy moves to the big city to follow his dreams, leaving his girl and everything he loves behind—but that’s exactly what Gareth Andrews has done. Playing rugby league is Gareth’s dream, and he’s signed with one of the best teams in the competition, the Sydney Jets.

Of course, that has meant a move to the big city and leaving Emily Mackenzie and everything he loves behind. Not that Gareth hasn’t begged her to join him in the city—he has, on bended knee—but Emily needs to stay in Gunnedah and help her father on the family farm until her brother’s stint in the armed forces is over. But Gareth knows it’s more than that. Emily is hiding away, embarrassed by the scars that mar her body in a constant reminder of the bushfire that nearly took her life.

Can love give Emily the courage to face strangers again when her father is badly injured and Gareth shows up at the hospital to support her? Or will she let her fear and shame get the better of her, and break her one true love’s heart for a second time?

Donna-Gallagher_socmedia0002

My giveaway for this blog will be an eBook copy of Emily’s Cowboy! Just leave a comment for a chance to win.

To find out more about me or my League of Love series the excerpts are available on my blog and website, as is my bio – and yes I did marry a rugby league player, but sometimes you do have to be careful what you wish for!

Website:    Totally Bound Author Page:     Amazon Author PageTwitter:  Facebook:

 

Caitlin’s Hero, #1               Amazon     ARe

  Mandy’s He-man, #2           Amazon     ARe

  Laura’s Light, #3                 Amazon     ARe

 Pippa’s Fantasy, #4            Amazon    ARe

Emily’s Cowboy, #5            Amazon  ARe 

Sarah’s Soldier, #6           Amazon     ARe

Cassie’s Choice, #7         Amazon     ARe

Here is a list of authors participating in this blog hop all are giving away a prize so go and check them out 🙂

1. Cassandra Carr – Our hop organiser extraordinaire

2. Jami Davenport – Surprised she is up and about after the Superbowl!

3. N Kuhn

4. Liz Matis

5. VL Locey

6. Laurie Peterson writing as Laurie Terson

7. Michel Prince

8. Jean Joachim

9. Kate Willoughby

10. Lily Harlem I bet Lily is talking about her gorgeous Viper boys 🙂

11. Donna Gallagher – oh wait that’s me, you’ve already been here 😉

12. Normandie Alleman

13. Keira Andrews

14. Melanie Ting

15. Raw Talent Series

16. Bianca Sommerland

17. Suzan Butler

18. Megan Linden

For Hockey Romance lovers I thought I should mention there is a brand new website up and running, several of the authors participating
in this hop are involved in this new website,  so why not check it out http://hockeyromance.com

14 thoughts on “Sports Romance Blog Hop – Combining My Love of Sport and Books #Giveaway

  1. Congrats on your wonderful series Donna! Good for your sister too. It was fun to hear about her success in the sports world.

  2. Donna

    I too am a big sports fan and rugby league is one of my favourites as well and ofcourse your heroes are the best 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • Helen it will be interesting to see how your West Tigers go this year.
      I think I will elect you President, Secretary and all other position for my non existent fan club 😉
      Thanks for your lovely comments 🙂
      Cheers,

    • Hi Shelley,
      There are quite a few rugby union romances around but yes, mine are about rugby league – the better rugby 😉
      My team is the NZ Warriors…it’s a very long story. I’ve been following them for years.
      Thanks for finding me!
      Cheers

Leave a Reply

