Max Vos is On the Bench.

I know I’ve mentioned it before but one of the best things about the author/reader community is being given the opportunity to meet so many wonderful new people. I was fortunate to have the opportunity to connect with Max Vos on a Yahoo group I was invited to join. I still don’t understand why I was lucky enough to have been asked to join this particular group because through it I’ve had the chance to meet so many wonderful and supportive people, Max being one of them. So who is Max Vos…

Max Vos is a classically trained chef with over 30 years of food service experience. After retiring in 2011, Max found himself with time on his hands and was urged to turn his talents to writing. ‘Cooking English’, a short story, was his first published work, and has four other short stories currently in publication with Ravenous Romance. His first novel will be published sometime this year through MLR Press and he has just completed a second novel. His first self-published short story was a best seller on Amazon, staying in the top ten for over a week. Way to go Max!

Max is also excited to announce the up-coming release of P.O.W., which I believe will happen during GRL in October.  Yippee!

 

MV BlogExcerpt from Hawk and Harley

“Long time no see, huh?” He chuckled.

“Damn, Robert, I’d never have guessed. I mean…I’ve not seen you since high school.”

“Yeah, and we didn’t exactly hang with the same crowd back then,” he said with a hint

of regret in his voice, a faraway look in his eyes.

“No…we kinda drifted apart after junior high.” I was being kind. Robert had started

hanging with a crowd that was known as the ‘hoods’, not a very pleasant group. It was also

the same group that made my life miserable with their bullying, with Robert being one of

those bullies.

He smiled weakly at me, clearly understanding my reaction.

“Hey, you remember Theresa Bell?”

“Yeah. Cute blond, big boobs?” I remembered her vividly.

Laughing quietly, Hawk nodded. “Yep, that’d be her. She was Harley’s mother.”

My mouth fell open. Now there was a pair I’d never have put together.

He laughed again. “Yeah, never would have thought that, would ya? We hooked up

right after graduation, much to her parent’s dismay. We met at the Technical College. She

was studying to be an LPN and I was doing motorcycle repair.” He had that silly grin on his

face as he remembered. “Anyway, we started dating. She got knocked up with Harley about a

year later and we got married.”

“Where is she now?” I didn’t see her as the type to run off and leave her kid.

“She was killed while we were riding one afternoon.” The pain on his face made me

want to hold him, so I did. “There was this big semi who changed lanes suddenly. Ran right

over her. She was riding in front of me. I had time to react, but I don’t think she even saw it

coming. Harley was 18 months old then.

“Oh God, Robert, I’m so sorry.”

“Yeah, well thanks, Danny. That means a lot to me.” He rolled over onto his side,

looking at me. “I did love her, ya know. We started off as a couple of stupid kids, but when

Harley came along, we grew up real quick. He became our focus.”

“Harley’s a great kid, Robert. He’s super smart and full of life.”
“Thanks, Danny. I know Theresa would be glad to hear you say that. She really

respected you.” He smiled gently. “We talked about you once, wondered what had ever

happened to you.”

“Um…Robert? If you were married to Theresa, then…”

“You’re wondering why I just fucked your brains out?” He slapped me with that grin

again.

“Well…yeah?”

“See, that was part of the problem back in high school.” His expression turned serious

again. “I started having these feelings for guys. Now I always got off on the chicks, but I was

also popping wood over the guys too. At the time I didn’t know what the hell was going on. I

mean, I’d never heard of a bisexual before.”

“Damn.” I didn’t know what else to say.

“A lot of my anger back then was directed at myself.” I could tell he was remembering

back to that time, and the memories weren’t all that pleasant. After a few moments he

continued. “After Theresa, I was able to finally explore that side of myself. I am a bisexual

for sure, but I’ve gotten to the point where I understand it more, and I tend to lean more

towards the guys now.” His face changed. The laugh line around his eyes smoothed out. “I

guess I just understand them better.” He chuckled.

“I don’t know what to say, Robert.” I was still trying to process all this.

“For starters it’s Hawk now. No one calls me Robert except my old man.” He nudged

me for emphasis.

“Okay…Hawk.” I stroked the side of his handsome face, his moustache so soft. “How’d

you get that nickname?”

“It was when I was at Tech U with Theresa,” he snickered. “The guys in the machine

shop said I could spot Theresa from a hundred yards away, just like a hawk. It stuck.”

I had to laugh. “That does sound like you. You always were a tail hound.”

Hawk traced the line of my lips with his calloused forefinger. “When did you know?”

he asked softly.

“I always knew,” I breathed out, my eyes focused on the ceiling. “I actually had a big

crush on you in Junior High.”

images

Now for ‘The Interview’

What was the first book you had published?

The first thing I had published was a short story in an anthology for Ravenous Romance. I was so surprised when they sent me a contract I actually thought it was a joke at first. The first individual book was Hawk ‘n’ Harley. When it hit number 3 on Amazon’s M/M Romance list I just about cried.

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

My first reaction was that it was a joke. It was Lise Horton that finally convinced me it was the real thing.

 

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

P.O.W. will hold a special place in my heart. I initially wrote it for an open call, which I wrote in ten days. Of course there was a lot of editing that went on after that, but the main body of the book was done in just ten days.  D* I’ve read this one as well and it hooked me from the first page J

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I am both. I like to have a schedule and I keep to a fairly set routine, but there are times when the mood is right and I just go for it.

What was the last book you read?

I won’t say what the last book I read was because it was just awful, but the last book I read that I really enjoyed was September Tide by K.c. Wells which isn’t even released yet. I was lucky enough to beta read it for her. Loved it.

What are you working on now?

Currently working on edits for The V-Unit. Yeah, I have a thing for Marines. I also have a work in progress that deals with loss, grief and the ability to find new loves. *D- I was lucky enough to read this one ages ago –It really is amazing Max. Gritty and direct but so good.

 

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

I would love to try and do a historical piece. The problem is that it involves a lot of research and I would have to find the time to do that. Maybe next year.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

The first time I got edits back I nearly fell over. There was so much red on the page I nearly flipped out. However, once I started getting into it, it really wasn’t all that bad. Mostly just small grammar things. Now, I focus and take it one page at a time.

What is one thing in your books you’d like to try?

There isn’t a lot in my books that I haven’t done. I’ll leave it at that.

untitled

tumblr_m6glpoQJBw1r16xvro1_500vegemite175

 

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

I love sports. I’m a huge sports fan of all kinds of sports. American Football is a must. I love Aussie Football as well, though I don’t get to see it as much as I would like. It isn’t all that big here in the States. This whole thing with the winter Olympics in Sochi is really disturbing to me though. I’ve watched sixteen year old boys baited and then beaten and humiliated on camera which was posted on the internet for all to see. Several committed suicide. All because they are gay.

I’m torn right now about the International Olympic Committee. I don’t understand why they won’t take a stand on this. *D – I have to admit to not being aware of this…Shocking! I hope something is done about this promptly.

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

That one is easy. Michael Flannigan. He was an actor who came to the U.S. many years ago when I was in my twenties. He was playing a lead in a play in Townsend, Tennessee. He was really, really good. He was also really, really cute. I had such a thing for him. I hated to see him go back to OZ.

Your view on Vegemite?

Don’t even know what that is. D* And you were doing so well until now 😉

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

HA! Both. – *D- Will you cook for me next time I visit the US?

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

If I were twenty years younger, adventure. Now? I’d be happy with a cocktail, pool cabana and a hot pool boy!

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

I’ve always fantasied about spending a year or so just touring Australia. There is just so much there to see. I’d like to experience it all!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today Max.To find out more about my friend Max here are some contact details and buy links.

Hawk and Harley – Amazon US  Sasquatch – Amazon US

Max Vos Blog   Facebook

Max 1

4 thoughts on “Max Vos is On the Bench.

  1. What a wonderful post from both sides, Donna & Max! I just loved finding out more about Max who I’ve also been thrilled to “meet” and get to know via my Yahoo writers’ group. And Donna who just plunged right in from day one and became a great part of the Hot & Bothered operation. I, too, have had the pleasure of doing some beta reading on Max’ stories, including the 3 mentioned here, and can attest to the marvelous characterization, steam heat, and the intense and edgy humanity that you create. Truly marvelous stories of lust and love and I am so excited to see them all succeeding in finding fans.

Leave a Reply

