Maggie Nash is On the Bench

Today is a great day because my guest is fellow Australian and Total E Bound author Maggie Nash. I’m so pleased to welcome Maggie to On the Bench. Honestly Maggie Nash is just a fabulous woman, not only a kick-ass author, a founding member of ARRA but also one of the most supportive people I have ever met. Maggie knows just about all there is to know when it comes to being an author (and a lot about life too) and she is happy to pass on that information free of charge and usually with a smiley face attached. I was blessed the day I made contact with her. I like to call her Google Maggie because she is my first stop if I need help, advice or just a shoulder to cry on. Seriously who hasn’t heard of Maggie Nash? But if by chance you haven’t, you are truly missing out on someone worth knowing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMaggie Nash is On the Bench

I’m Maggie Nash and I write romance novels. Some of them are suspenseful, some are pretty hot, and some of them are a little bit kinky, but what they all have in common is a fun, romantic ending.

I started writing more by accident than design when one day I ran out of books to read so I started writing one myself. And boy am I glad I did, because writing has become a huge part of my life.

I live with my family on the beautiful south coast of New South Wales in Australia. You can find me most days having a cappuccino

 

2085

Who knew losing a bet could be this much fun?

Erica Nielsen agreed to a bet with her best friend, but she never imagined losing would involve a weekend of punishment at Dangerous Liaison, a BSDM retreat. But was it really punishment being trained by a sexy Irishman who takes her on a sexual journey of a lifetime?

Conal Brennan agrees to help a young woman find her submissive nature. He always enjoys being the one in control, but one look at the Nordic blonde he calls ‘Fire girl’ and he’s not sure who’s controlling whom.

Excerpt:

The man knocked twice on the intricately carved wood with the ornate brass knocker. It opened as he stepped back, ushering her inside. The hallway was narrow but a door appeared immediately on her right.

“Go inside the first room. There you will be given instructions for the beginning of your training.”

She turned, wanting to thank the man for his direction, but he’d already left. She knocked lightly, and the door opened under the pressure of her hand. The room was warm and inviting with a cast iron fireplace blazing with flames. She walked farther inside, spying a wide partners’ desk and several chairs. All class, taste and decorum. No kink to be seen.

From where she stood the area appeared unoccupied. Not sure of what was expected of her she made a beeline for the comfortable looking couch and sat down.

“Did I say you could sit down?”

Shit, where did he come from? Erica struggled to stand back up, almost slipping to the floor as her dress slid on the buttery soft leather cushion. Way to make an impression, girl. “I’m sorry,” she said before she managed to scramble to her feet. “I didn’t realise there was anyone h—” Oh my God it’s him. The guy from the bar. The one who was so much like Colin Farrell he could be his twin brother. Her knees faltered as she tried to stand up straight. It was then that the penny dropped. The bar had been a set-up.

Buy Link – Total E Bound

 

 images

 Author Interview Questions.

What was the first book you had published?

It was a romantic suspense called Crash and Burn and it was in 2005.

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

Since I’d only sent the book in on the Friday and this was a Sunday morning, let’s just say I was over the moon!  I don’t think I stopped emailing and messaging my friends for about 3 hours!

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

There’s a few. I loved my first book (Crash and Burn) because I put my whole heart and soul into it, and it was such an amazing feat for me to finish it.  My second book (The Dream Master) is special to me because it was probably the easiest book I’ve ever written. The words flew out of the ends of my fingers as I typed it, but the most special book for me is The Relic. I think the heroine, Magda, is very much like me (or how I would like to be!) and it was like writing about myself. Oh yes, and she is a super hero too! Not that I am of course…but I do definitely relate to her emotions.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

Totally undisciplined! I try to have a routine, but it’s getting trickier as my real life has been full of upheavals and moving and such lately. Hopefully that is all over now so I can get back into a routine. Years ago, when I first started out I would get up an hour earlier every day and write before going to work. I need to do that again!

What was the last book you read?

Kiss of the Goblin Prince by Shona Husk…really enjoyed it too! (Aussie Author – check her out!)

What are you working on now?

I’m working on a contemporary/fantasy series.  Well, hoping for it to be a series – book 1 has been accepted, but fingers crossed they want the rest as a series  🙂

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

Since sci-fi was one of my first loves in books, one day I might try that. Plus I have a paranormal series plotted out that I will write when I find the time.  I already do contemporary, historical  (Victorian), suspense, BDSM and fantasy.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

Feisty and Focussed!  I love edits!  *D- Blah!

What is the one thing in your books you’d like to try?

Longer length.  It’s been a while since I wrote novel length.

Scott+Pendlebury+Collingwood+Magpies+Recovery+EMAqmqipo3DximagesCA4AEDQC

 

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

Oh you know it…I’m a HUGE AFL fan:  GO PIES!

*D – Not another AFL Lover. GRRR! Need to interview someone who follows rugby league 😉 So these are Collingwood players I’m told, okay I guess 😉

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

Bronwyn Parry/Hugh Jackman/James Morrison

Your view on Vegemite?

Is there any other way to eat Vita Wheats but with butter and Vegemite?

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

Both.  I love the dinner party because I can try new recipes on unsuspecting victims…but the back yard barbeque is good because the men cook!

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Relaxing by the pool all the way!

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

I’ve had a ball at a lot of places, but I would have to say Hamilton Island. I’ve been there twice and loved it both times…come to think of it, it’s been a while – must be time to go back!

Thanks for visiting today Maggie, it was such a pleasure to have you – even though you follow that other football. I want to thank you again for all the support you have given me over the last few months and for your friendship which I truly value. I loved reading Kinky Bet and I wish you many sales and rave reviews.

 

 Maggie’s links  Website   Facebook  Twitter

22 thoughts on “Maggie Nash is On the Bench

  1. Thanks for having me here today Donna – Mwuah! …and thanks for the pics of Pendles, Daisy, Harry and Ballsie! aka Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas, Harry O’Brien (be still my beating heart!) and Luke Ball. GO PIES! hehehe…had to get that in again! And thanks for reading KINKY BET 🙂 I’m so honoured that you liked it! *Hugs*

    • I’m just waiting for Tom Waterhouse to pop on by and give us the odds of you becoming a best seller?
      * For those confused by this comment it’s an Aussie thing, you really don’t want an explanation, trust me.

    • I think you ask first if they support rugby league before you agree to an interview Donna. Lol … I have read most of Maggies books and enjoyed them

      • That’s a good plan Barbara…may limit the available guests though 😉 I seem to be in the minority when it comes to authors loving rugby league.

  2. You deserve the compliments Maggie 1 and Maggie 2. It’s nice to see a bit more AFL eye candy too Donna. Good luck with the novel project Maggie, reckon you can do it with your eyes closed.

  3. Whoo Hoo Ladies sorry Maggie I am a big rugby league follower LOL (go Tigers) and yep I have loved your stories Maggie I need to go and get this one I am a bit behind very busy and yucky at work 😦 I need to retire)
    Congrats on the release I am looking forward to reading it

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • I need to retire too Helen! I’m older than you remember 🙂 I do like the rugby league players too – but there’s something about the athleticism vs the bulked up muscles that I prefer about AFL 🙂 I hope you like Kinky Bet!

Leave a Reply

