Victoria Blisse is On the Bench

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My Guest On the Bench this week is Victoria Blisse. Please make her feel welcome – even if she does follow that other football!

Victoria Blisse is a Mother, Wife, Christian, Manchester United Fan and Award Winning Erotica Authoress. She is also the editor of several Bigger Briefs collections, and the co-editor of the fabulous Smut by the Sea vol 1 & vol 2, Smut Alfresco and Smut in the City Anthologies.

Victoria is also one of the brains behind the fabulous Smut by the Sea Event taking place at Scarborough Library (UK) on the 22nd June 2013. A day dedicated to Erotica with a mini erotic marketplace and lots of Author Readings, Fun Giveaways and Exciting Talks.

She is equally at home behind a laptop or a cooker (She is TEB’s Resident “Naked Chef”) and she loves to create stories, poems, cakes and biscuits that make people happy. She was born near Manchester, England and her northern English quirkiness shows through in all of her stories.

Passion, love and laughter fill her works, just as they fill her busy life.

You can often find Victoria procrastinating on Facebook , Twitter  and Pinterest.

Book Blurb:

literallybitten_newbigBooks brought them together, blood lust binds them, but can her puritanical father pull them apart?

Lily loves fiction and has done since she was a child. It was her escape from the harsh reality of life being brought up by just her over-protective dad. Tom only ever reads textbooks, claiming that there’s enough to fascinate in this world and that he has no need to read about pretend places. But when he walks into Lily’s book shop he finds out they have a lot more in common than he first thought.

When the young couple take a trip to the famous vampire and human bar, The Point, Lily gets a shock. Her estranged father is there as part of a Purity protest; he is violently opposed to her, Tom and anything that the cult calls unclean. Which is just about anything fun.

Can Lily and Tom overcome these prejudices and their own inexperience to find love that will last forever?

Buy link: Total E Bound

Excerpt:

The Purity gang were more and more often found at the front of The Point, waving placards decrying vampires as evil and those who entertained them as sinners of the worst kind. They were generally peaceful, if menacing. They would make a lot of noise and occasionally bulbs of garlic had been thrown and crucifixes brandished. No vampires or friendly humans had been hurt as far as he knew but he was sure numbers at the club were dwindling because vampires and humans alike were getting sick of the constant bombardment of bile and hate.

“Dad?” she gasped, grabbing out and catching Tom’s hand in hers. She hung onto him with a vise-like grip. The poor woman was scared.

“So you still recognise me then.”

“Of course I do,” she snapped. “What are you doing here?”

“I thought that was quite clear. I am decrying evil, trying to make this world better, purer. What are you doing here?” he countered.

“I’m about to enter this club, Dad,” she responded in a calm tone, though her grip on Tom’s hand hadn’t loosened one bit. “I thought that was quite clear.”

“Harlot!” The words exploded from his mouth like a bullet and startled Tom. “Look, my own daughter has been pulled into this seedy world of sex and blood and evil.”

“Shut up,” Tom growled, “is that any fit way to talk to your daughter?”

“I’ll talk to her any way I want. I am her father. She is mine. She will always be mine even if she tries to deny it. One day when her sins weigh heavy on her shoulders she’ll come back to me. But why should I explain myself to you? You’re an abomination!?” He whipped a crucifix from behind his back and waved it in front of him like a patriotic flag. Tom cringed and stepped back. So did Lily. Her father’s eyes widened in shock as he realised his daughter was undead too.

“Dad,” she spat the word as if it tasted bitter in her mouth. “Look at yourself before you accuse people like that. You are the freak, the abomination. You’re the only one here spouting hatred.”

“You’ll come to your senses one day, daughter. I will see to it. If an abomination like you can be saved.”

Tom had never heard such malevolent intent aimed at a family member before. Lily’s dad truly was a nutjob. And he continued to rant, aiming it at the gang of misfits behind him.

“Even my own daughter has been sullied by them, bitten and turned. My own flesh and blood inherently sinful. It is a plague, a terrible plague, my brothers. There is no sense in the world.”

“I think you’re the one who needs to find some sense, pal.” Tom let go of Lily’s hand and wrapped his arm around her shoulder protectively. “Come on, Lily. Let’s go.”

Lily’s father stepped forward. Tom felt Lily cringe and readied himself for violence. He’d never hit anyone before but he was hoping that with the enhanced senses and healing saliva that vampires got, there was also some kind of super-awesome fighting instinct, too.

“Step back, Ronald.” The familiar voice of The Point’s head honcho filled Tom with relief. “Lay one finger on him and you’ll be in court having your butt sued before you can blink. Now take your merry band of hatemongers and leave my clientele alone. Or do I have to bring out security?”

“Fine, we’re going,” Ronald sneered. If he’d have been a cat all his fur would have stood on end. He clearly could not stand Hugh. The feeling was mutual  judging from the impervious steel of Hugh’s gaze.

“I’ll see you again soon, Lily. I miss you. You know there’s always room in my heart for you.”

“Fuck off, Dad.” Her tone was flat and emotionless. Her eyes told a different story. “Let’s go, Tom.”

She pulled Tom towards the club entrance simply by striding purposefully forward. He kept his arm around her as they walked.

“Are you all right?”

“I will be once I’m in there,” she replied. “They serve alcohol, right?”

“Sure.” Tom nodded. “Any variety you like.”

“Good.”

Tom wanted to say something, to express some sort of dismay at the actions of her father and to offer her some kind of comfort. But he’d never been good at that and apparently it wasn’t something that came easily to the undead either.

“Are you all right, miss?” Hugh was right behind them. The old vamp moved so stealthily. Tom was thoroughly jealous.

“I’m fine, thank you,” she replied with a nod.

“Well, welcome to The Point. Tom here will show you the ropes, I’m sure.”

“Thank you.”

imagesNow to find out a little more with my usual Author interview questions.

What was the first book you had published?

Proving Santa Exists, which I got rights back to a while ago and self-published at the end of last year. It was first out in November 2006.

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

Disbelief at first as it was the very first story I’d ever submitted and then complete and utter joy. I Bounced around and yelled a lot.

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

Oh heck, I wish people would stop putting me in this position. I am a woman with a whole host of people sat in my head and if I show favouritism I’m going to end up with some major sulking going on. So I will just say I’m generally very focused on the current book I’m writing, so that is the favourite one for me.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I’m not disciplined at all but when I sit down to write, I usually can. Usually. I have a list of stories as my arm that I want to write, it’s just a matter of finding the time and not procrastinating so much. Easy, huh?

What was the last book you read?

Good question, I think that was Anything for Him by Lily Harlem and Natalie Dae. A very intense read indeed!

What are you working on now?

Well, this past weekend I joined in with NaNoWriWee and tried to write a novel in a weekend. Unsurprisingly I didn’t manage that but I did write a 30 000 novella called ‘Unscripted Desires’ all about a young cleaner in a theatre falling for the big celebrity star who’s headlining in a Shakespeare play.

Now I’ve done that madness (and it clearly was! )I have a few short stories to write and submit to my own call for submissions  for Smut by the Sea vol 2 and Coming together with curves and I have a novel with 2 hot billionaires to finish off too.

Not much, really.

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

I’d love to write a historical romance, I really would but the research scares me.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

I hate edits. Hate, hate, hate edits. But I have very good editors so once I steel myself to open them, they aren’t too scary. I just get bored out of my brains while doing it, but that’s not their fault, just mine.

What is the one thing in your books you’d like to try?

Oh, I have a Djinn in my Djinn’s Amulet Series (funny that, eh?) and I’d love to have my own genie to order about. That would be fantastic.

aussie lifeguards rjips6timtams

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

I love football and I am a huge Manchester United fan. I’ve always had a thing for the Welsh wonder, Ryan Giggs but I must admit that even though he’s moved to pastures new, Cristiano Rondaldo still makes my heartflutter when I watch him.

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

I think just about every Brit loves Kylie Minogue. She’s brill.

Your view on Vegemite?

EEEEEEVIIILLLLLL! Ban it, burn it, bury it! Bleh.  *D – Not the right answer Victoria, Tsk Tsk!

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

I’m an informal girl myself, bung on the barbeque. Though be willing to huddle under an umbrella in the rain if you plan to do it here in Britain.

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Can I say neither? I don’t like to lay about on holiday but I’m a wimp and so heights and depths and daring-do isn’t my thing either. I do love to visit things though, museums and castles and theatre’s and beaches and landmarks and stuff. I’m a typical tourist I suppose.

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

I’m called Victoria, would be really cool to visit myself wouldn’t it? Get a photo of Victoria in Victoria!  *D – Lol!

Thank you so much for visiting today Victoria. I hope when I visit the UK in July we can get together for a barbie (Aussie translations – barbeque :p ) and discuss the vegemite issue in person 😉

 

 

8 thoughts on “Victoria Blisse is On the Bench

  1. Love the interview, Victoria!
    I think my heart broke a little for Lily when her dad called her an abomination. But on another note the excerpt was very compelling.
    Congrats on the new release. 🙂

    Donna – I love that you added a pic of Tim Tam! Lol!

    ~Jen

  2. Loved this interview! It was great to learn more about Victoria and her writing. I’m with you, Victoria, on the historical – it intimidates me, because I’d want the period details to be perfect and I’d drive myself crazy trying, I’m afraid. Kylie Minogue seems very sweet and fun. She’s doesn’t have as huge a following in the U.S, but I like her, too. 🙂 And yes, great and emotional excerpt from “Literally Bitten.”

    • Thanks, Bebe. Historical is one of my favourite romance genre’s to read but I know the research involved to write it would probably kill me. *L* And thanks for the compliment on the excerpt. I had so much fun writing that story.

Leave a Reply

