Jennifer Wright is On the Bench

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sitting On the Bench this week is Total E bound author Jen Wright.

Jen has her own blog and I can recommend her Wednesday posts. They are very pleasing to the eye!

Hi Jen and welcome – now tell us your secrets.

I was born in Arizona, but have spent the better part of my life in Wisconsin.  While I enjoy living close to my family, my heart longs to live in the South – or anywhere where the winters are warmer, and I hope to someday get there.  I love writing, and try to dedicate as much of my free time to it (ha! what free time?).  If I’m not typing away on my laptop, you’ll find me with my nose buried in a book, or with my loving boyfriend debating on what movie to watch and the never ending back and forth decision of what we should have for dinner.  I love spending time with my family and boyfriend, cuddling with my two cats, and laughing as much as possible (cuz I like to think I’m funny).

Morvea CoverBook blurb for Morvea: Finding Home Series book 2

Keddrick has denied claiming his mate for four years, separating them by worlds just to keep the man he loves safe…from him. Can he resist temptation when his love lands on his doorstep in need of help?

Eli has lusted after Keddrick from the moment the vampire stepped through the portal and into Earth. He had desperately wanted to follow along when Keddrick returned to Pavarus, but it wasn’t allowed—not to mention that Eli was under the impression that Keddrick was straight. Four years later his wish has come true, but not in the way he wanted. Barely escaping death by the hands of Wayland, head of the human council on Earth, Eli flees to Pavarus in search of help. The line of events that gets him there releases a hidden secret deep inside him he never knew existed, and will soon change his life forever.

Keddrick’s restraint towards Eli is being seriously tested, and every day Eli stays with him at the coven, it gets harder. He wants to keep his distance, but at the same time he wants to do everything he can to please Eli. As time goes on, he feels his resolve slowly crumble, his love for the man too strong to ignore. When Keddrick finds out about Wayland’s threat on his and Eli’s lives, he is determined to stop the madman anyway he can, even if that means going against Eli’s pleas for him not to.

Through blood and tears, years of love and moments of betrayal, can these two men find their way through the hardships and into a life of happiness in each other’s arms?

Excerpt from Morvea : Finding Home Series Book 2

(From Eli’s POV)

Rick wasted no time stopping a car. He moved in front of a vehicle, pointed his gun at the driver, and yelled, “Get out!”

The driver sat in shock as Rick came around and opened the driver side door and pulled the guy from his car. Rick quickly hopped in and hit the brakes before the car could roll away, screaming for Eli to get in.

On autopilot, Eli jumped in and slammed the car door closed. The tyres squealed as they took off. He heard more gunshots and ducked as the rear window shattered. Rick cursed and ordered Eli to keep his head down.

Eli began to get car sick as Rick whipped the vehicle around corners at an unreal speed, weaving through traffic. “Where are we going?” he asked.

Rick shot him a quick glance. “There’s only one place we can go.”

Eli nodded in agreement. He knew, as well as Rick, that they could never hide from the human council.

Not as long as they were still on Earth.

Eli risked a look out of the back window. “I don’t see anyone following us anymore.”

A cocky grin broke out over his friend’s face. “That’s because nobody can drive as good as me.” His face sobered. “But I have no doubt that they know where we’re going. We can only hope that we’ll get there first.” He shot another quick glance at Eli. “You do have your cross with you, right?”

Eli nodded. “Yeah, of course I do.” He always did. Keddrick may have given him the necklace as a means to hide the piloats chip, but Eli still cherished it like it was a personal gift. There wasn’t a day that went by that he didn’t wear it. It had come from Keddrick—he would never take it off.

Rick slammed on the brakes and the car came to a sudden halt. “We’re here,” he said as he looked into the rear-view mirror. “And we’ve got company. Come on, hurry!”

They both hurried out of the car and the deafening shots started immediately. Eli was in the mouth of the alley when he heard a painful grunt from Rick. He spun around just in time to see a second bullet pierce Rick’s chest. His friend dropped to his knees.

“Run!”

Eli froze.

“Run, damn it!”

But he couldn’t leave Rick.

As he took his first step towards his friend he stumbled, a sudden sickening feeling in his gut making him lose his balance.

“No!” He watched as Rick raised his gun and fired back at the enemy.

Eli swallowed hard and looked down at his stomach, at the deep red blossoming over his dress shirt. He staggered back, slowly tripping his way backwards down the alley. Clutching his stomach, tears blurred his vision as he looked back to Rick, who lay face down on the sidewalk.

His friends—his brothers—were gone.

And it was all his fault.

Sudden urgency floored him as he realised he was next if he didn’t move.

Hand shaking, he managed to pull out the little cross from beneath his shirt. Turning it so that the back faced outwards, he saw the little chip begin to glow. A ripple formed in the air before him, ever so slight—if he didn’t know what to look for he would have never seen it.

This was going to suck. Going through a partially opened portal was extremely painful, and he was already hurting enough.

The sound of boots pounding against pavement had Eli turning around. At the end of the alley a man came to a stop. The look on his face was feral as he raised his gun and took aim at Eli.

Without thinking, Eli lifted his hand towards the man. A vibration spread throughout his fingertips, the tingling sensation making his fingers twitch. Eli watched as the guy went flying backwards into the street, as if he’d been hit by a battering ram. The moment he hit the asphalt a car slammed into him, running him over.

Eli’s eyes widened as shock and fear and so many other damn emotions flooded through him.

What have I done?

He dropped his hand back down to clutch his screaming gut as he stumbled backwards and through the portal.

A falling sensation overwhelmed him, but nothing compared to the pain that surged through his body. His bones felt like they were being crushed. His body contorted, threatening to break in half. Every muscle screamed as if he was being burned alive. His heart pounded beneath his ribcage, his breath hitching in quick, short gasps. A hum sounded in his ears, growing louder and louder until it was piercing, making him scream.

Then it all went dark.

 

Morvea: Finding Home Series book 2 is up for pre-order at a 15% discount on January 28th, 2013 at Total-E-Bound.

Buy link: http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?P_ID=2017&strPageHistory=related

 

 images

 And now  Jennifer Wright it’s time to answer my questions!

 

What was the first book you had published?

Pavarus: Finding Home Series book 1

It’s a MM/Vampire romance

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

I think my exact reaction was my jaw hitting the desktop as I stared unblinkingly at my computer, then a little crying from pure happiness, then, of course, bouncing in my seat in excitement.

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

Even though it hasn’t been published, I’d have to say the first book I wrote holds a special place in my heart – How To Love A Cowboy (title subject to change) a MF/Cowboy/Contemporary romance. Since it was my first manuscript, it definitely has it flaws, but I plan on revamping it someday, and then hopefully get it published.

I hate to say that it really has nothing to do with the storyline as to why it’s most special to me, it’s because writing that book was one of the proudest moments of my life, and a huge turning point. I’d had the same corporate, dead-end job since I was 18, my life was going nowhere in the sense of a career – nothing interested me, nothing held any appeal to me….until I found writing. I cried – hard – when I finished my first book, because for once I actually felt like I had a chance to do something I loved.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I wish I was a disciplined writer, because then maybe I’d actually get some writing done. If I sat myself down and forced myself to write, I’d write nothing but a bunch of crap. So, yes, I have to wait for my muse…I think – I’m not sure, can music be considered a muse?

All I know is if I want to write (something good), I have to hop in the shower, blast my music on my phone, and let my imagination take me away.

What was the last book you read?

My Roommate’s a Jock? Well Crap! by Wade Kelly.

What are you working on now?

Oh my, all sorts of stuff. I can’t seem to focus on one thing. I’m constantly switching between stories. I’ve had to push a lot of work aside so I could finishing the 3rd book of the Finding Home Series, but I’m also revamping a werewolf story I wrote over a year ago, and, even though I shouldn’t, I’ve started up a brand new book – this new one is a secret though, I’m keeping it all to myself until it’s finished.

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

Um…there really isn’t one. I write contemporary, MF, MM, paranormal, vampire, werewolf, cowboy/western, futuristic, and now a little light BDSM. Other than a ménage or non-romance – which I hold no real interest in writing either – I’m not sure what else there is to write. Well, I guess there is historical, but I know nothing of those times and would probably make a fool of myself trying to write about it.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

Both. First feisty and focused then come day three I reach teary and disillusioned.

 

 aussie lifeguardsrjips6

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

 

 

 

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

I can’t give you an embarrassing sporting memory because every memory was embarrassing. Let me sum it up – I was that kid that always got picked last, so all the other kids made it a point to harass me every chance they got. And since school, due to health issues, I don’t play sports.

Wow, that was depressing.    *D Aww hugs Jen.

Okaaaay, I watch football! Our quarterback, Aaron Rodgers, is a hottie! 🙂

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

Hands down Hugh Jackman. Yum!    *D – Popular choice lately.

Your view on Vegemite?

Vege-what?     *D Hmm! You have not lived 😉

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

Backyard bbq anyday – hamburgers, corn on the cob, potato salad, and baked beans. Unh! Now I wish it was summer.

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Relaxing by the pool – even though I am allergic to chlorine.

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

Even though I’d have to be knocked out with a horse tranquilizer to travel overseas, I’ve got an uncle that lives in Moruya Heads; he says it’s beautiful there. So, I’d have to be knocked out by a horse tranquilizer to travel overseas, but I would like to visit there someday.

Thanks for being On the Bench this week Jen, it was a pleasure learning more about you – well apart from the whole Vegemite issue! I guess you can be excused I have a feeling it’s banned in the US.

You can find more about Jen and her books at:

Blog – http://authorjenwright.wordpress.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/_JenWright

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/JenniferWright

Total-E-Bound author page – http://www.total-e-bound.com/authordetail.asp?A_ID=253

13 thoughts on “Jennifer Wright is On the Bench

  1. Pingback: I’m “On The Bench” at Donna Gallagher’s! « Jennifer Wright's Blog

    • Thanks, Normandie.
      I’ve found a few authors that say they get their best idea’s in the shower as well. I wonder why that is?
      For me I would actually have to say it’s the music more than anything else. For instance, I get great idea’s when listening to music on a long car ride. The music is the main factor, the ‘free time’ to sit and think could be anywhere really.

      ~Jen

    • Thank you, Lisabet. I’ve got quite an exciting list of excerpts that I’ll be sharing over the next few months. 🙂

      And jeez, Donna, now there’s something else I have to look up. What the heck is Tim Tam?

      ~Jen

      • Jen, Jen, Jen – you know so little. Some Aussies may not like Vegemite but I don’t know a single person who would refuse a Tim Tam. Mmmm! The best chocolate biscuit in the universe 🙂

    • Thanks, Sage! 🙂
      Yeah, I’m deathly afraid of flying over (or even going on a boat) large bodies of water. I HAVE to see land. I have to be reassured that if something were to go wrong that I could swim my little wimpy butt to shore.

      ~Jen

Leave a Reply

