On the Bench with Danielle Lisle

photo

Today it gives me great pleasure in welcoming my friend and fellow author at Total E Bound Danielle Lisle to the team sheet for ‘On the Bench’- I was lucky enough to catch up with Danielle last time I was in Darwin – we shared a bottle of bubbly and the odd cocktail!

Tegan_Headshot (lowres)Living in the remote part of Australia called the Northern Territory, Danielle conforms to the typical Aussie persona. That is, if you think the typical Aussie sits around the BBQ with a beer in hand, dressed in a singlet, shorts and ‘pluggers’ (rubber thongs) thinking nothing of the 35 degree celsius heat with 100% humidity and ignoring the snapping handbags (saltwater crocodiles) swimming nearby. Yep, Danielle is certainly that typical Aussie on weekends, but during the week, she is somewhat different.

Transporting herself to a place of history, intrigue and fornication, Danielle writes historicals laced in scandal, lust and desire, with no thought to propriety or what’s socially considered ‘proper’. She adores the handsome rogue or the wild rake that refuses to acknowledge to the possibility of love or monogamy. What woman doesn’t like the allure of the wonton tempter, with his tightly fitted breeches and devilish smile? *swoons!*

Danielle believes there is something hugely gratifying about taming that wild gentleman, and is kind enough to haul us along for the ride.

portrait_of_a_scandal_coverExcerpt From: Portrait of a ScandalLondon, late July, 1881Oh my, this contraption is more uncomfortable   than any corset!As the words flitted through her mind, Lady   Nellie offered a smile to a passing gentleman, trying to ignore the heavy   weight of the article hidden beneath her dress. She held no interest in the   affectionate glance he bestowed upon her. Instead, she retrieved a crystal   glass of champagne from a servant’s tray. You are here for a reason, she   chastised herself. Get the job done and run like the devil is on your heels!Nellie gulped down the remaining fizzy liquid   from the elegant glass before taking a deep breath as she glanced around the   room. Lords and ladies were chatting. Mothers scouted the room, seeking to   marry off their young daughters to rich dukes, lords or even   commoners—assuming they had money. The passage of time had relaxed the ton as   their need for money increased, overlooking any snobbery towards those of   non-noble blood. If you had money and wished to mingle with the aristocracy,   there was a good chance that your desire could become a reality.The people around her paid Nellie scant attention   as she slipped behind the curtain leading towards the house’s private   quarters. It did not take her long to locate what she sought—she could hear   the moans beyond the final door on the right. She smiled, knowing wealth   awaited her if she could capture this moment of debauchery.Scandal made the papers. In the past, gossip had   turned her a tidy profit, but now they wanted pictures. Her editor considered   her ‘his little secret’. Her information had led him to the entrapment of   several lords and ladies in less than proper circumstances, but it was not   enough. No, now he wanted the utmost of scandals and he wanted it captured   for all to witness. This noble lady was not nearly as careless as the others,   but Nellie would not be deterred. The seemingly seasoned debutante was about   to be exposed and if Nellie’s sources were correct, she was about to earn a   vast profit. Oh, please, let it be the duke’s unwed daughter.She noted the small wooden box by the door and   inwardly thanked the heavens for the servant’s greed for a guinea over his   loyalty to the house. As she knelt down—a somewhat trying task considering   the burden she was already carrying strapped to her body—and opened the lid,   the small creak of the hinge was drowned out by the gentle groans seeping   from under the door beside her. Removing the object that had caused her so   much discomfort for the evening, Nellie took no time to relish in her relief   as she ensured the small, yet heavy, camera was ready. It was only then that   she allowed herself a calming breath. Juggling the camera in one hand, she   held up the bulky flash lamp, which was a prototype according to her   editor—not that she really cared.She would only have one chance to capture the   moment. Nellie leant back against the door, the moans and groans sending heat   through her untried body. She had pleasured herself only last night, but the   sounds coming from the room sounded so divine. Oh, how she desired to be   wanton like this girl, but knew that could never be. No man wanted a woman   with a mind such as she possessed for a wife, and she would never fall so far   into the gutter as the woman beyond the door had done.She shook her head at these foolish thoughts.   Nellie took one last breath. Raising her chin, she shouldered the heavy   wooden door open, calling, “Oops. Pardon me, wrong room!”As both man and woman turned in shock, Nellie   flicked the switch for the flash powder to ignite and pressed the shutter   open on the camera. The flash of bright white light filled the room,   illuminating all before her for a single instant. Then a billow of white   smoke hid the bed and its occupants from her view. The woman screamed, but   Nellie did not wait to see if it was the duke’s daughter. She tossed the   flash into the room, uncaring for its end, and darted down the hall, the   rake’s angry bellow sounding behind her as she ran for her life. Indeed, like   the devil was on her heels.

What was the first book you had published?

The first book of mine that was published was, The Rose’s Bloom, book #1 in my Rogues of Deception series. It was actually the first historical novel I attempted to write and also my first ever attempt at an erotic romance. It did not turn out too bad, even if I do say so myself. 😉

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

Shock, surprise and then a full on freak out! The Roses Bloom was the first book I ever attempted to submit for publication and Total eBound was my first submission. They picked it up straight away and I think that was why it was more a reaction of a shock then anything else. All the other authors I spoke to said they received rejection and rejection first up, and expected the same. I’m yet received one, but I’m sure I’ll cry when I do.

Of the books you have written is there one that hold a special place in your heart and why?

Yes, there is. It is called Leading Hand and it was the first story I ever attempted to write. The heroine is me in so many ways and I think for that reason I will never attempt to clean it up for publication. It is so special to me that I do not think I will ever be able to share it.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I would never say I am a disciplined writer – not at all. I only ever write at night, in my darkened room, after a nice hot shower, the air-conditioner on, the covers pulled up and my laptop cradled in my lap. I need to have no distractions when I write so it does become hard to get much achieved with a 3yo in the house.

What was the last book you read?

Sharon Sala’s Gentle Persuasion.

What are you working on now?

Book #2 in my Scandals of Nobility series. It is annoyingly unnamed at this stage but it is Lord Headline’s very own story. I am really enjoying writing it and can’t wait to see how he finds his “happily ever after”.

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

Paranormal romance. I’ve been working on something but it is very hard to step out of ones comfort zone. Time will tell if I get the transition right or not.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

Neither, really. Granted, I’m very close to my characters as I’m writing them, but once I finish the story, typing the words “The End” seems to separate me from story and the people in them. I’ve written their story, so I move on. Yes, it feels strange when I come to edit the story, but I never feel too emotional at all as I cut sections or rework scenes. All of what we do in an edit is to make the story stronger, so I sink my teeth into the task with pleasure! 😉

aussie lifeguards

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

Rugby League – what girl doesn’t want to be tackled by a big, sweaty prop. *dreamy sigh* Oh Willie! (Mason) I’m over here!!! *waves seductively*    (D-Of all the players you could pick you chose this one!)

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

Callan Mulvey – I loved Heartbreak High when I was younger. Teen crush that has never really gone away.

Your view on Vegemite?

Yummy. Why does anyone say anything different? *raises eyebrows*

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

Backyard BBQ – anytime!

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Why – can’t I have both?

What is the one thing in your books you’d like to try?

….Donna, I write erotic romance, so I’m not sure if you are trying to get my in trouble here? Are we talking sexual related? 😉 I’ll pretend ignorance. (D- Boring Ms Lisle, I expected more from you!)

Well, as I write historicals, I think the main thing I would like to experience is simply living as they did – the upper class that is, and lack of plumbing aside. I am a avid horsewoman, so the idea of riding everywhere sounds wonderful – again, aside from the storms, dust and comfort on a long ride.

I suppose you can see if like the idea of it more than the possibility of living it in reality. 😉

Find out more about Danielle Lisle and her books at http://www.daniellelisle.com/

The Virgin at Goodrich Hall – available at Total eBound and more good sites!

Thanks for playing this week Danielle – I’m looking forward to sharing our next bottle of bubbly 😀

10 thoughts on “On the Bench with Danielle Lisle

Leave a Reply

