Soggy Summer Christmas Day

IMG_0576 Christmas Day kicked off bright and early, my 14 year old who never appears before 10am was wide awake at 5am playing UNO with  his father. Surrounded by children, in-laws and a couple of honorary children (only a Scot and Englishman would wear a sweater to an Aussie Christmas), hubby and I enjoyed watching the frantic unwrapping of gifts. I scored well receiving travel guides to coincide with my planned trip to Europe and the UK and an iPad mini. Other wins for me on the day were tweets from two of my favourite sports stars!

As the men went off to church – poor English guest still hoping it was code for the Pub – the womenfolk began the meal preparations. Now usually this is done in the sweltering heat of a Sydney summers day. For weeks I‘ve been moaning (bragging) to my friends in the Northern Hemisphere about how hot it is in Sydney on Christmas Day. I whinged about the high temperatures in my kitchen as I cooked the traditional fare of turkey and roasted vegetables complaining that it was time the family decided to settle for a more appropriate meal of prawns, lobster and crispy fresh salads.

Well how does that saying go? Be careful what you wish for.IMG_0574

My mother-in-law is a gun with a potato peeler and was quick to finish her assigned task. Su, my oldest son’s partner, took over the table setting and decoration department while I tackled the turkey. It was all going to plan – right up until the first thunderstorm hit. Not really what you’re looking for when you plan to eat outside. And it was cold – Seriously put a jumper on, cold. Maybe my international guests did have the right idea!

There was much studying of weather satellite maps through various smart phones, iPads and the like, and yes I am pleased to say that I served lunch just as the biggest storm of the day arrived. But in true Aussie fashion we battled on – after all as my 8 year old nephew would say “rain is only water molecules”

mandysheman_thumbnail

There was one more exciting event that occurred on this wet and windy day – the second book in my League of Love series, Mandy’s He-man released at Total E Bound.

Book two in the League of Love Series
Can this rugged mountain of a man really protect her, teach her to trust and love again? Or will the choices she’s made in the past destroy her future?

Having managed to break free from an abusive relationship with a cruel and dominating ex-boyfriend, Australian artist Mandy Magenta—a.k.a. Amanda Smith—should be terrified when she first meets the enormous bulk that is Jonathon ‘JT’ Thomson. He is fierce. Not only is JT the biggest, most muscular man Mandy has ever set eyes on, but he makes a living playing the brutal sport of Rugby League.

So why, then, does Mandy’s body go into lust overdrive at the mere sight of him? She doesn’t feel a hint of alarm as the colours that exist in her mind, created and inspired by her own emotions and her artistic talents, explode with vibrant and passionate intensity. Could JT be the man to remind her that she is still a sensual, amorous woman, a woman deserving of love and tenderness—and can he protect her from the threats her ex has promised to deliver on?

Leave a Reply

