Kat Latham is On the Bench

There is nothing I love more than a good sports romance but if you know me at all you can appreciate that I have a special place in my heart for rugby themed books. So I was thrilled when the awesome Kat Latham agreed to visit downunder and showcase her new release Playing it Close, book two in the London Legends series. Kat Latham is a California girl who moved to Europe the day after graduating from UCLA, ditching her tank tops for raincoats. She taught English in Prague and worked as an editor in London before she and her British husband moved to the Netherlands. Kats other career involves writing and editing for charities, and shes traveled to Kenya, Ethiopia and India to meet heroic people helping their communities survive disasters. Kat writes novels about the world’s sexiest rugby team. – *** D- that would be rugby union Kat, my Jets boys are the sexiest rugby league team 😉 You can usually find Kat on her blog (katlatham.com), Twitter (@KatrinaLatham), Facebook (facebook.com/KatLathamRomance) and Goodreads. She hopes youll hang out with her there! Playing-It-Close-by-Kat-Latham-300-pxPlaying It Close Book two of the London Legends Where do you go to escape everything when you’re one of the most famous rugby players in the world? For Liam Callaghan, that place is a remote lodge on Venezuela’s Caribbean coast. Perfect, except he doesn’t exactly want to be alone with his thoughts. Enter Tess Chambers, the ultimate distraction. Still reeling from a professional disaster that’s made her all but unemployable, Tess understands the desire to move through life as somebody else. So when instantly recognizable Liam uses a fake name, she runs with it and creates a temporary new identity of her own. Their time spent together in paradise is idyllic but brief after one passionate night, Liam wakes up to find Tess gone. Returning to London, he’s shocked to learn she’s taken a job with his team’s new sponsor. As the Legends’ captain, he’ll have to not only figure out how to work with the one woman who ever left him wanting more, but also convince her that their feelings in the present mean more than any lies they’ve told in the past. Amazon.com: http://amzn.to/1gu9EDr Amazon.co.uk: http://amzn.to/198copt Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1f8zZcj Carina Press:http://bit.ly/1ih8Ena Google Play: http://bit.ly/1bS2MK5 iBooks: http://bit.ly/1fsyQ9y Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1eWYYwz Read Chapter One: http://bit.ly/1cYbLKr Kats social media accounts: Twitter: http://bit.ly/1dK6KJH Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1mqOsB0 Newsletter: http://bit.ly/1eKMB4p Website: http://bit.ly/1bctpQe Visit Kat at Give Me Books Blog http://bit.ly/1gLNDRQ

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kat Latham is On the Bench

What was the first book you had published? My first book was Knowing the Score, which is the first in my London Legends series about the world’s hottest rugby team. Rugby union, anyway. 😉 ***D- I’m glad you made that distinction Kat 😉 What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract? I found out that Carina Press wanted to publish me just a few weeks after finding out I was pregnant with my first child. Both of those journeys—to publication and to pregnancy—took two and a half years. So, honestly? Getting that email from Angela James was very cool and very exciting, but it was the icing on the cake (the cake being the bun in my oven). I wrote on my blog at the time about how frustrating the two-plus years were when I wasn’t sure either dream would come true. I’m thrilled to say that being a published author and being a mama are both so much more rewarding than I ever could’ve expected. Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why? Oh, that’s a great question! I love Knowing the Score because it was the first novel I ever wrote—and I rewrote it about a dozen times as I learned more about the craft of writing! But Playing It Close came to me so easily; the characters were so vivid, and my early readers have told me they love it the best. It’s hard not to have a favorite when you get feedback like that! Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood? My writing habits have changed since having my daughter ten months ago. I used to wake up early—a couple of hours before I had to leave for work—and write at a cafe. Now my daughter gets me up at that time, so waking up earlier would mean getting up in the middle of the night. I think my husband would throw my phone across the room if the alarm went off at 4 a.m. Now I write whenever and wherever I can! What was the last book you read? I can’t tell you because it’s a book I judged for the Romance Writers of America RITA awards. 😉 But I can tell you that I liked it. What are you working on now? I’m writing two stories, both in my London Legends rugby series. One’s a full-length novel, Tempting the Player, which will come out in November. It’s a friends-to-lovers story, which is something I love. The other’s a Christmas novella featuring a 6’9” second row. I like ‘em big. 😉 What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own? I would loooove to write a historical romance because I’m fascinated by 18th century British history. I tried it though, and it took me weeks to write a few pages because I kept looking up details. What kind of trousers would he be wearing? Which servant would’ve shown her to the drawing room? Would she even be invited to the drawing room? Gah! I have so much respect for historical novelists. When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed? My editor, Deb Nemeth, is amazing. Her edits always make sense and always make my stories better. So while part of me dreads getting edits (Will I have time to do all the things she asks me to???), I also really look forward to getting her take on my stories. What is one thing in your books you’d like to try? You mean one thing my characters have done? Score the winning points in the Rugby World Cup. Pretty sure it won’t happen though. RU Heath ad

Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory. I have SO many embarrassing sporting memories, so I’ll ignore that question. We’d be here forever. As you may guess from the novels I write, I watch quite a bit of rugby. Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician? Even though he’s gone, I’d have to say Heath Ledger. I had such a crush on him after Ten Things I Hate About You—and an even bigger one after Brokeback Mountain. Your view on Vegemite? Never tried it. I’m a big fan of Marmite, though, so that’s at least got four of the same letters. Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque? Barbeque, as long as there’s something veggie on the grill for me (and it’s not a portabella mushroom). Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool? Adventure holiday. My favourite vacation was in India with my husband the year I turned 30. I’ve been back there for work, but to the same area. I’d love to go somewhere new. Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit? This is really embarrassing, but I was obsessed with Australia when I was a kid. I remember reading a novel about a kid who was kidnapped and escaped into the Outback and had to survive. For some reason, that convinced me Australia would be a fantastic place to live. My only other exposure to the country was Crocodile Dundee, so I greeted everyone with “G’day, mate” until my best friend threatened to stop hanging out with me. I no longer do that (promise!), but I would still love to go to Australia. In fact, I think Australia’s the sexiest country in the world. Gday