Ann B Harrison is On the Bench – Aussie Rural Romance Author

I love when I get to showcase a fellow Australian author on my blog. So I jumped at the chance to interview my next guest Ann B Harrison. I had the pleasure of meeting Ann at the first Romance Writers of Australia conference I attended a few years ago, and if my memory serves me right Ann was presented with her ‘First Sale’ ribbon that year. Since then she has released a number of books and in my opinion they are definitely worth reading.  I have read most of them but I must admit I hadn’t yet purchased From the Outback when I received this post. I jumped straight over to Amazon after reading the excerpt and fixed that oversight ;)

054A3757_pp_1

Ann swears she was born with a book in her hands and has never put it down. A lifelong love of reader has finally culminated in achieving her dream of writing…and publication.

She lives in the beautiful Hunter Valley with her own handsome hero of many years. Ann has always loved the ups and downs of life in small communities and she shares this with readers in her rural romances.

Strong sexy heroines with a good dash of sass thrown in feature in her stories. Of course these women need an equally strong hero. Bring on the outback hero and watch the passion ignite.

When not writing Ann enjoys reading, gardening, walking her very large dog Hugo and fighting with her computer.

Outback coverFrom the Outbackblurb

Although desperate to get out of her dead end job, Sami is cynical when she hears of an inheritance from the grandfather she never knew. But once she and her young brother arrive in the beautiful valley, she discovers they are not wanted…especially by the sexy vineyard owner next door.
Will she persevere and make a home for them, or give in and take the easy money when the going gets tough?

Excerpt

Mason pushed her into the bathroom, leaning forward to flick on the shower. A fountain of water fell from the shower rose embedded in the ceiling.

“This is impressive, I would love one of those in my house.” She stood under the warm water and smiled when he followed her in. He took a sea sponge from the shelf and pumped soft soap onto it before rubbing over her shoulders and back. “I could get used to this too.”

“I do yours, you do mine.” Mason scrubbed her breasts and then handed her the sponge turning to lean his hands on the wall. Sami reached out and washed his back starting at his shoulders and drawing small circles all the way down to the top of his thighs.

He turned and wrapped her in his arms dropping a kiss on the top of her head. “That was great, thank you. Now it’s time I fed you.” He flicked off the shower and passed her a towel, before wrapping one around his hips. He walked into the bedroom and picked up his jeans dropping the towel and stepping into his pants.

When Sami dried herself, she walked into the bedroom and looked for her panties. She found them under the bed and stepped into them before picking up her jeans. Humming to herself she walked out to the kitchen to claim the rest of her clothes. Her bra and T-shirt were in a pile on the floor and she picked them up, watching Mason light the gas stove as she dressed.

“I think I prefer you without those on.” He grinned and ran his hand through his damp hair.

“Yeah well, I’m sure you would but I’ve never actually eaten dinner naked and I don’t know if I should start now.”

He leaned his arms on the counter and smiled at her. “It could be something we head toward. Keep some fun in the relationship.”

“Let’s see how we go shall we? What’s for dinner, I’m kinda hungry after all that exercise.” She popped the button on her jeans and ran a finger down his nose and over his lips. “I wonder if you will offer me more sweaty sex for dessert? I don’t know if I would turn you down. Fact is, I might insist on it after your first stellar performance.”

“You really are a little firebrand, aren’t you? When I saw you I thought you were the quiet type.”

“Quiet doesn’t have to mean I don’t like sex. How about I pour us a wine and check the fire while you start cooking?”

They were sitting on the couch in front of the fire after a tasty dinner when lights came up the driveway, shining through the windows.

“Oh bugger, you have a visitor.” Sami put her coffee on the table and stood.

“Don’t go anywhere. I’ll see who it is and get rid of them.”  Mason left the room and she tucked her feet up under herself and sat down again.

A car door slammed and voices reached her ears.

“Darling, I’m so sorry I missed your little do the other day. Did you miss me?” The tap of high heels on the stone path got louder as the visitor approached the house.

Sami could hear Mason talking. “What are you doing here, Clare?”

“Now darling, don’t be so cross. I know you hate it when I have to stay in Sydney and attend to other things but that is how it has to be for now. Once things settle down I can spend more time here with you.”

Sami stood up, a wave of cold dread spreading up her chest. The door pushed open and in walked a beautiful blonde carrying a small overnight bag. She stopped when she saw Sami.

http://www.amazon.com.au/From-Outback-Ann-B-Harrison-ebook/dp/B00G1SIOAI

imagesAnn B Harrison is on the Bench

9396002What was the first book you had published?

Taming the Outback. It came out last August.

What was your initial reaction when offered that first contract?

I bawled my eyes out. And then did it again a couple of hours later because I ended up getting three offers in the first 48 hours after submitting. Really blew my little brain.

Of the books you have written is there one that holds a special place in your heart and why?

I think I would have to say Taming the Outback. Being my first book, it has to be up there on the top shelf of great achievements.

Are you a disciplined writer or do you have to wait for the muse to arrive? Do you have a ritual that gets you in the mood?

I try to get at least two thousand words a day down. Most days I do more than that and I hate to say it, but if I have a day when I don’t get something down, I feel kind of sick about it. To really knuckle down I make a pot of tea and slip on the headphones. Then I’m in a world of my own.

What was the last book you read?

Still reading Karen Rose’s latest, Watch your Back.

What are you working on now?

Oooh, I’ve decided to write an erotic series and I’m almost finished book one.

What genre would you like to try and write that is different from your own?

I think I’ve written every genre I want to write. Young Adult, Contemporary and Erotic.

When you receive edits are you Teary and Disillusioned or Feisty and Focussed?

Love my edits so I’ll go with Feisty and Focussed for sure.

What is one thing in your books you’d like to try?

I wish I could be more like my heroines and tell people no more often. I’m such a soft touch.

images

 Now for some hard hitters with an Aussie flavour!

A sport /sportsperson that you watch? (C’mon there must be one) OR An embarrassing sporting memory.

Rugby league, love me a game of league if Jonathan Thurston is playing. Vote him in for Prime Minister I say.  When cricket is on, love twenty-twenty.
*D I have to agree with you there Ann I love JT :D 99px-Johnathan_Thurston_(26_October_2008)

Favourite Aussie Author/Actor /Musician?

I really like Paul Kelly.

Your view on Vegemite?

Yummo, with lashings of real butter on hot toast.

Formal dinner party or backyard barbeque?

Backyard barbeque every time.

Adventure holiday or relaxing by the pool?

Depends how tired I am. I would love to relax by the pool but I think after a couple of days I’d be dying to go for an adventure.

Favourite Aussie holiday place or one you’ve always wanted to visit?

I love Fraser Island or if we are pushed for time, Double Island will do just as well.

 

Thank you for visiting today Ann :)

To find out more about Ann and her books here are some links.

http://www.annbharrisonromance.com/

https://www.facebook.com/annb.harrison.7

One thought on “Ann B Harrison is On the Bench – Aussie Rural Romance Author

  1. Thanks so much for having me Donna. OMG if I’d known you had read all my books except From the Outback I would have given it to you. *slinks away ashamed for not thinking of it myself*

Leave a Reply

